Fern Society of Southern Africa

To find Covid information visit the government website at:



To promote an interest in ferns (Pteridophyta)

To protect indigenous ferns

To research the cultivation of ferns

To disseminate information concerning ferns.


The Fern Society of Southern Africa formally met for the first time on the 8th of March 1980. The journal was first published in September 1983 and again in March 1986. Since then over 100 issues have been published. A regional group was formed in 1982 in Southern Natal, but lasted only two years before breaking up. The first honorary member, Dr. WBG Jacobsen, was elected in 1984. The Fern Society has been associated with various persons, places and organizations including Keith Kirsten’s Waterkloof Garden Centre (1985), the Manie van der Schijff Botanical Garden of the University of Pretoria (1989), the Pretoria National Botanical Garden (1990) and the Fern Festival in Graskop (1992). Several fern surveys were done for forestry companies as well as Nature Conservation and various private landowners over the past 40 years. The Society presently has approximately 90 members throughout Southern Africa, all sharing a mutual interest in ferns.


The Constitution of the Fern Society of Southern Africa states that the Society shall consist of an unlimited number of members. These members are bound by the constitution upon admission to the Society.

Any person, club or society desirous of becoming a member of the Society must submit an application to the Secretary, together with the prepayment of the first subscription.

The management and control of the Society shall vest in the Committee as elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting.

*The full Constitution is available from the secretary on request.